Americanized Rebel Without A Green Card

Author: Sara Saedi
Editor: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 1524717819
File Size: 40,59 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
Read: 9429
Download

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios! This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books. “Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes ‘90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative.” —The New York Times At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number. Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend. Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear. FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR A NYPL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST OF THE BEST BOOK SELECTION A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! “A must-read, vitally important memoir. . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment.”—Bustle “Read Saedi’s memoir to push out the poison.”—Teen Vogue “A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today.”—Pop Sugar
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Sara Saedi
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-06 - Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios! This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans
Study Guide Student Workbook for Americanized Rebel Without a Green Card
Language: en
Pages: 116
Authors: David Lee
Categories: Study Aids
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-03-27 - Publisher: Independently Published

The Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and provide a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use the activities included to improve student learning and organization. Students will construct and identify the following
Engaging with Multicultural YA Literature in the Secondary Classroom
Language: en
Pages: 210
Authors: Ricki Ginsberg, Wendy J. Glenn
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-18 - Publisher: Routledge

With a focus on fostering democratic, equitable education for young people, Ginsberg and Glenn’s engaging text showcases a wide variety of innovative, critical classroom approaches that extend beyond traditional literary theories commonly used in K-12 and higher education classrooms and provides opportunities to explore young adult (YA) texts in new
Body Talk
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Kelly Jensen
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-18 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2020 It’s time to bare it all about bodies! We all experience the world in a body, but we don’t usually take the time to explore what it really means to have and live within one. Just as every person has a unique
Racial Trauma in the School System
Language: en
Pages: 154
Authors: Connesia Handford, Ariel D. Marrero
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-17 - Publisher: Routledge

Racial Trauma in the School System provides foundational and clinical information for school-based mental health professionals to better understand and address the nuanced experience of racial trauma in their school. The book focuses on conceptualizing racial trauma and the impact it has on a child’s development and academic functioning, providing