Hand In Glove Dead Water Death At The Dolphin

Author: Ngaio Marsh
Editor: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 0007328761
Size: 16,45 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
Read: 356

Commemorating 75 years since the Empress of Crime's first book, the eighth volume in a set of omnibus editions presenting the complete run of 32 Inspector Alleyn mysteries.

The Encyclopedia Of Murder And Mystery

Author: B. Murphy
Editor: Springer
ISBN: 0230107354
Size: 13,37 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
Read: 773

Bruce Murphy's Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery is a comprehensive guide to the genre of the murder mystery that catalogues thousands of items in a broad range of categories: authors, titles, plots, characters, weapons, methods of killing, movie and theatrical adaptations. What distinguishes this encyclopedia from the others in the field is its critical stance.

The Great Detectives

Author: Otto Penzler
Editor: Open Road Media
ISBN: 1453266402
Size: 16,36 MB
Format: PDF, ePub, Mobi
Read: 900

The origins of literature’s finest crime fighters, told by their creators themselves Their names ring out like gunshots in the dark of a back alley, crime fighters of a lost era whose heroic deeds will never be forgotten. They are men like Lew Archer, Pierre Chambrun, Flash Casey, and the Shadow. They are women like Mrs. North and the immortal Nancy Drew. These are detectives, and they are some of the only true heroes the twentieth century ever knew. In this classic volume, Otto Penzler presents essays written by the authors who created these famous characters. We learn how Ed McBain killed—and resurrected—the hero of the 87th Precinct, how international agent Quiller wrote his will, and how Dick Tracy first announced that “crime does not pay.” Some of these heroes may be more famous than others, but there is not one whom you wouldn’t like on your side in a courtroom, a shootout, or an old-fashioned barroom brawl.

Ngaio Marsh

Author: Bruce Harding
Editor: McFarland
ISBN: 0786460326
Size: 14,37 MB
Format: PDF
Read: 547

Reviews of the Series: “The McFarland Companion series…has been consistently excellent, both in its choice of subjects and its quality of scholarship and writing”—Mystery Scene. Considered one of the “Queens of Crime”—along with such greats as Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers and Margery Allingham—Ngaio Marsh (1895–1982) was a gifted writer and a celebrated author of classic British detective fiction, as well as a successful theater director. Best known for the 32 detective novels she published between 1934 and 1982, she received the Order of the British Empire in 1948 and was made a Dame of the British Empire (DBE) in 1966. Based on years of original research by the curator of the Ngaio Marsh House in Christchurch, New Zealand, this book explores the fascinating literary world of Dame Ngaio.


Author: Janet Husband
Editor: American Library Association
ISBN: 0838909671
Size: 16,49 MB
Format: PDF
Read: 768

A guide to series fiction lists popular series, identifies novels by character, and offers guidance on the order in which to read unnumbered series.

The Eclectic Magazine

Size: 17,79 MB
Format: PDF, ePub, Mobi
Read: 490