Forgotten Dead

Author: William D. Carrigan
Editor: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0199911800
File Size: 49,95 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
Read: 5176
Download

Mob violence in the United States is usually associated with the southern lynch mobs who terrorized African Americans during the Jim Crow era. In Forgotten Dead, William D. Carrigan and Clive Webb uncover a comparatively neglected chapter in the story of American racial violence, the lynching of persons of Mexican origin or descent. Over eight decades lynch mobs murdered hundreds of Mexicans, mostly in the American Southwest. Racial prejudice, a lack of respect for local courts, and economic competition all fueled the actions of the mob. Sometimes ordinary citizens committed these acts because of the alleged failure of the criminal justice system; other times the culprits were law enforcement officers themselves. Violence also occurred against the backdrop of continuing tensions along the border between the United States and Mexico aggravated by criminal raids, military escalation, and political revolution. Based on Spanish and English archival documents from both sides of the border, Forgotten Dead explores through detailed case studies the characteristics and causes of mob violence against Mexicans across time and place. It also relates the numerous acts of resistance by Mexicans, including armed self-defense, crusading journalism, and lobbying by diplomats who pressured the United States to honor its rhetorical commitment to democracy. Finally, it contains the first-ever inventory of Mexican victims of mob violence in the United States. Carrigan and Webb assess how Mexican lynching victims came in the minds of many Americans to be the "forgotten dead" and provide a timely account of Latinos' historical struggle for recognition of civil and human rights.
Forgotten Dead
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: William D. Carrigan, Clive Webb
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-04-19 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Mob violence in the United States is usually associated with the southern lynch mobs who terrorized African Americans during the Jim Crow era. In Forgotten Dead, William D. Carrigan and Clive Webb uncover a comparatively neglected chapter in the story of American racial violence, the lynching of persons of Mexican
The Forgotten Dead
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Ken Small, Mark Rogerson
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-28 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

27 April 1944. Exercise Tiger. German E-boats intercept rehearsals for the D-Day landings... On a dark night in 1944, a beautiful stretch of the Devon coast became the scene of desperate horror. Tales began to leak out of night-time explosions and seaborne activity. This was practice for Exercise Tiger, the
The Forgotten Dead
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Tove Alsterdal
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-08-10 - Publisher:

An unputdownable thriller set in the dark underbelly of Europe, perfect for fans of I AM PILGRIM. Tarifa, Spain. The body of a migrant washes up on the beach. The police have no leads. Patrick Cornwall is a highly acclaimed investigative journalist. His latest project: to uncover the plight of
The Forgotten Dead
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Kenneth John Small
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher:

Books about The Forgotten Dead
The Forgotten Dead
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Ken Small, Mark Rogerson
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Pub Limited

During the night of 27th April 1944, Exercise Tiger, a rehearsal for the D-day landings, took place off the coast of Devon. This supposedly routine exercise experienced a series of fatal blunders that allowed German E boats to intercept the convoy of landing craft. By dawn, nearly 1000 American servicemen,