The Alchemist In Literature

Author: Theodore Ziolkowski
Editor: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: 0198746830
File Size: 26,92 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
Read: 7980
Download

The figure of the alchemist has, in recent years, become an enormously prevalent image in advertising and popular culture. You can scarcely open a magazine or the Internet without encountering references to economists, chemists, artists, and others as 'alchemists' of their fields. This study examines the alchemist in literature from Dante to the present and shows how the popular response to that figure varies from period to period. From the Middle Ages down tothe Enlightenment, when many people still believed in alchemy, writers treated alchemists with ridicule and exposed them as charlatans out to cheat the gullible public. When alchemy was discredited bymodern science, the alchemist himself was romanticized by some writers, who turned the figure into a social altruist, poet, or religious thinker. In the twentieth century, under the influence of C. G. Jung, the figure of the alchemist was further popularized, becoming an image for transmutations of every sort-from economics and medicine to music and art. This vast popular appeal encouraged many writers to undertake fictions of various sorts-historical novels, juxtapositions of present andpast, contemporary settings-featuring protagonists who regard themselves in some sense as modern alchemists. In sum, the figure of the alchemist provides a seismograph by which we can measure shifts inpopular culture.
The Alchemist in Literature
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Theodore Ziolkowski
Categories: Alchemy in literature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-15 - Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

The figure of the alchemist has, in recent years, become an enormously prevalent image in advertising and popular culture. You can scarcely open a magazine or the Internet without encountering references to economists, chemists, artists, and others as 'alchemists' of their fields. This study examines the alchemist in literature from
The Alchemist's Handbook
Language: en
Pages: 162
Authors: Frater Albertus
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-06-01 - Publisher: Weiser Books

“If you really want to learn the basic principles of practical alchemy, Frater Albertus’ Alchemist’s Handbook is literally is worth its weight in gold.”—from the foreword by Israel Regardie, author of The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites, and Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order The Alchemist's Handbook
The Alchemist's Code
Language: en
Pages: 339
Authors: Martin Rua
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-01 - Publisher: Head of Zeus

The first in a gripping conspiracy thriller series for fans of Scott Mariani and Dan Brown. A dark figure. A secret code. A battle between good and evil... Years ago the Knights Templar developed a secret code. A code so secret that only one man could remember it. The code
The Alchemist's Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 145
Authors: Emilie Jacobsen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Emilie Jacobsen

For her 15th birthday Hilda receives the Book of Silence from her father. This will enable her to make gold – if she can figure out the riddles in the book. All Hilda dreams of is to be a great alchemist like her father and work with him in creating
The Alchemist's Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Mary Lawrence
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-01 - Publisher: Kensington Books

“Unique characters, a twisty plot and a bold, bright heroine . . . Mystery and Tudor fans alike will raise a glass to this new series.”—Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author In the year 1543 of King Henry VIII’s turbulent reign, the daughter of a notorious alchemist finds herself