The Gilded Years

Author: Karin Tanabe
Editor: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1761105159
File Size: 49,17 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
Read: 8770
Download

A captivating historical novel based on the true story of Anita Hemmings, the first Black student to attend the prestigious Vassar College by – passing as white. For fans of The Vanishing Half and The Gilded Age. SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed to attend the country’s most exclusive school for women, Vassar College. Now, a bright, beautiful senior in the class of 1897, she is hiding a secret that would have banned her from admission: Anita is the only African-American student ever to attend Vassar. With her olive complexion and dark hair, she has successfully passed as white, but now finds herself rooming with Lottie Taylor, an heiress of one of New York’s most prominent families. Though Anita has kept herself at a distance from her classmates, Lottie’s sphere of influence is inescapable, her energy irresistible, and the two become fast friends. Pulled into her elite world, Anita learns what it’s like to be treated as a wealthy, educated white woman – the person everyone believes her to be – and even finds herself in a heady romance with a well-off Harvard student. But when Lottie becomes curious about Anita’s family the situation becomes particularly perilous, and as Anita’s graduation looms, those closest to her will be the ones to dangerously threaten her secret. Set against the vibrant backdrop of the Gilded Age, an era when old money traditions collided with modern ideas, The Gilded Years is a story of hope, sacrifice and betrayal – and a gripping account of how one woman dared to risk everything for the chance at a better life. ‘Smart and thoughtful … A must-read’ PopSugar ‘Insightfully grapples with complex and compelling issues’ Booklist ‘The beautiful and the damned takes on a whole new meaning … A poignant imagining inside the most complex survival phenomenon: passing. With the grandeur of the Gilded Age intertwined with romance and suspense, you won’t be able to put this period piece down until you know how her story ends.’ Vanity Fair
The Gilded Years
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Karin Tanabe
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-02 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A captivating historical novel based on the true story of Anita Hemmings, the first Black student to attend the prestigious Vassar College by – passing as white. For fans of The Vanishing Half and The Gilded Age. SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed
A Woman of Intelligence
Language: en
Pages: 332
Authors: Karin Tanabe
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-20 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

"Captivating." ––The Washington Post Named a Best Book of Summer by Good Morning America • BuzzFeed • PopSugar • BookRiot • LifeSavvy • CT Post From "a master of historical fiction" (NPR), Karin Tanabe's A Woman of Intelligence is an exhilarating tale of post-war New York City, and one remarkable
A Hundred Suns
Language: en
Pages: 380
Authors: Karin Tanabe
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-07 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Named A Best Book of Spring 2020 by Real Simple · Parade · PopSugar · New York Post · Entertainment Weekly · Betches · CrimeReads · BookBub "A transporting historical novel, and a smart thriller."— Washington Post "A luscious setting combined with a sinister, sizzling plot." -EW A faraway land.
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era: A Historical Exploration of Literature
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: Wendy Martin Ph.D., Cecelia Tichi
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-22 - Publisher: ABC-CLIO

This book offers a one-stop reference work covering the Gilded Age and Progressive Era that serves teachers and their students. • Integrates and aligns material for American literature and social studies curricula • Offers a range of tools to support literary works—analysis, history, document excerpts, and areas for study •
The Nadir and the Zenith
Language: en
Pages: 257
Authors: Anna Pochmara
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-01 - Publisher: University of Georgia Press

The Nadir and the Zenith is a study of temperance and melodramatic excess in African American fiction before the Harlem Renaissance. Anna Pochmara combines formal analysis with attention to the historical context, which, in addition to postbellum race relations in the United States, includes white and black temperance movements and