Quiz Show

Author: Su Holmes
Editor: Edinburgh University Press
ISBN: 0748631577
File Size: 45,70 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
Read: 2639
Download

Despite its enduring popularity with both broadcasters and audiences, the quiz show has found itself marginalised in studies of popular television. This book offers a unique introduction to the study of the quiz show, while also revisiting, updating and expanding on existing quiz show scholarship. Ranging across programmes such as Double Your Money, The $64,000 Dollar Question, Twenty-One, The Price is Right, Who Wants to be a Millionaire and The Weakest Link to the controversial 'Quiz TV Call' phenomenon, the book explores programmes with a focus on question and answer. Topics covered include the relationship between quiz shows and television genre; the early broadcast history of the quiz show; questions of institutional regulation; quiz show aesthetics; the social significance of 'games'; 'ordinary' people as television performers, and questions of quiz show reception (from interactivity to on-line fandom). Key Features*Represents one of few book-length studies of the quiz show*Offers an accessible introduction to the genre for undergraduate students*Draws upon new archival research in order to contribute to knowledge about the early history of the quiz show*Demonstrates why the quiz show matters to Television Studies*Brings together key approaches in the field with new interventions and areas of study (such as the quiz show in the multi-platform age, and the study of 'ordinary' people as performers).
Conversational Humour and (Im)politeness
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Valeria Sinkeviciute
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-15 - Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing Company

Conversational Humour and (Im)politeness is the first systematic study that offers a socio-pragmatic perspective on humorous practices such as teasing, mockery and taking the piss and their relation to (im)politeness. Analysing data from corpora, reality television and interviews in Australian and British cultural contexts, this book contributes to cross-cultural and
The Housemate
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: C. L. Pattison
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-03-21 - Publisher: Hachette UK

YOU SHOULD NEVER HAVE LET HER IN. A gripping and twisting psychological thriller with an ending you'll never forget, THE HOUSEMATE is perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Jane Corry, Shari Lapena and Louse Candlish. 'Kept me on the edge of my toes...I never saw the ending coming. A fantastic
Big Brother: The Inside Story
Language: en
Pages: 264
Authors: Narinder Kaur
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-30 - Publisher: Random House

Never before have we had a candid account of what it's really like to be part of the cultural phenomenon that is Big Brother. Now entering its seventh year, Big Brother is an annual event on British TV. It generates a huge amount of press and shines a spotlight on
Multiple Perspectives on Language Play
Language: en
Pages: 412
Authors: Nancy Bell
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-01 - Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG

Interest in language play and linguistic creativity has increased in recent years, and the topic has been taken up from a variety of perspectives. In this book, disparate approaches to the topic are brought together, demonstrating that a number of phenomena whose similarities might not have been immediately recognized, have
Big Brother International
Language: en
Pages: 261
Authors: Ernest Mathijs, Janet Jones
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Wallflower Press

Since its inception, Big Brother has been versioned in over thirty countries and reached an estimated audience of over two billion. The first of its kind, this book considers the reception and impact of the series, and how different regions adopt the format to suit local cultural concerns and achieve