Undisclosed Files Of The Police

Author: Bernard Whalen
Editor: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0316431222
File Size: 17,61 MB
Format: PDF
Read: 6869
Download

More than 175 years of true crimes culled from the city's police blotter, told through startling, rarely seen images and insightful text by two NYPD officers and a NYC crime reporter. From atrocities that occurred before the establishment of New York's police force in 1845 through the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center in 2001 to the present day, this visual history is an insider's look at more than 80 real-life crimes that shocked the nation, from arson to gangland murders, robberies, serial killers, bombings, and kidnappings, including: Architect Stanford White's fatal shooting at Madison Square Garden over his deflowering of a teenage chorus girl. The anarchist bombing of Wall Street in 1920, which killed 39 people and injured hundreds more with flying shrapnel. The 1928 hit at the Park Sheraton Hotel on mobster Arnold Rothstein, who died refusing to name his shooter. Kitty Genovese's 1964 senseless stabbing, famously witnessed by dozen of bystanders who did not intervene. Son of Sam, a serial killer who eluded police for months while terrorizing the city, was finally apprehended through a simple parking ticket. Perfect for crime buffs, urban historians, and fans of Serial and Making of a Murderer, this riveting collection details New York's most startling and unsettling crimes through behind-the-scenes analysis of investigations and more than 500 revealing photographs.
Undisclosed Files of the Police
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Bernard Whalen, Philip Messing, Robert Mladinich
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-27 - Publisher: Hachette UK

More than 175 years of true crimes culled from the city's police blotter, told through startling, rarely seen images and insightful text by two NYPD officers and a NYC crime reporter. From atrocities that occurred before the establishment of New York's police force in 1845 through the terrorist attack on
Rogues' Gallery
Language: en
Pages: 528
Authors: John Oller
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-21 - Publisher: Penguin

From the beginnings of big-city police work to the rise of the Mafia, Rogues' Gallery is a colorful and captivating history of crime and punishment in the bustling streets of Old New York. Rogues' Gallery is a sweeping, epic tale of two revolutions, one feeding off the other, that played
The Last Pirate of New York
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Rich Cohen
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-04 - Publisher: Random House

Was he New York City’s last pirate . . . or its first gangster? This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, dock by dock—for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire. “History at its best . . . I highly recommend this
Seven Highly Effective Police Leaders
Language: en
Pages: 438
Authors: Brandon Kooi
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-28 - Publisher: Routledge

This book provides a valuable addition to the policing literature by detailing the backgrounds and histories of seven important police leaders: Teddy Roosevelt, August Vollmer, O.W. Wilson, Penny Harrington, Bill Bratton, Chuck Ramsey, and Chris Magnus. Seven Highly Effective Police Leaders teaches important history, highlighting the impact on the evolution
Case Files of the NYPD
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Bernard Whalen, Philip Messing, Robert Mladinich
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

"Characters galore, both good guys and gangsters, leap from the pages" (The New York Times) in this irresistible, authentic look at 175 years of true crime cases from the NYPD archives, packed with photos, artifacts and expert revelations. From atrocities that occurred before the establishment of New York's police force